Aspire Systems and an anonymised fashion and apparel retailer: Salesforce Commerce Cloud test automation case analysed (case 2)

Verdict: what is checkable

The evidence grade (this site's label for how a case is sourced: primary with client or press confirmation, secondary when vendor-hosted only.) is secondary: the only source is the vendor's own page; of 16 metrics, 0 are verifiable yes, 0 partial and 16 no. [ev-1161]

Client profile as published

Client
a leading American retailer operating for 100+ years (the vendor's description; the vendor does not name the client)
Segment
Fashion and apparel
Region
United States
Channels
stores and ecommerce
Size indicators
240 odd stores are spread across 33 states, which include a few pop-ups; operating for 100+ years

The client description and size indicators are quoted from the source; segment, region and channels are this site's classification. [ev-1161]

Systems in scope

  • Ecommerce platform (Salesforce Commerce Cloud (SFCC (Salesforce Commerce Cloud: a hosted ecommerce platform that mid-size and large retailers use for web and mobile storefronts.)/Demandware), SFRA): named in The Needs section and the Technology Snapshot
  • OMS (order management system: software that routes, splits and tracks customer orders across stores, warehouses and carriers.) (APTOS EOM): named as EOM in Aspire's Solution section; APTOS-EOM in the Technology Snapshot
  • POS (point of sale: the till software and hardware that rings up store sales, takes card payments and prints receipts.): named in the Solution panel and Aspire's Solution section (800+ Point of Sale test cases)
  • WMS (warehouse management system: software that runs receiving, storage, picking and shipping inside a distribution center.): named in Aspire's Solution section only
  • Integrations: named in The Needs section (third-party integration) and the Technology Snapshot (many integration systems)

Where the source names each system is quoted or summarised from the case page. [ev-1161]

Problem as stated

The apparel retailer was moving its storefront from SFCC to the SFRA architecture with third-party integrations intact, and wanted a more mature, scalable test automation setup with separate smoke and regression suites (the set of tests rerun before each release to check that existing features still work after a code change.). Validating feature-heavy work items together with the client's own QA team was hard, and more than 900 test scenarios had to be written within a fixed timeframe. [ev-1161]

Implement a more mature and scalable test automation solution (quoted from the source)

Approach

Testing types
automation and functional (main scope: automation)
Team shape
8 resources during peak period, supporting both SFCC and SFRA sites; shared the onshore QA load
Duration
not stated
Engagement model
not stated
Tooling named in the source
an unnamed test automation framework the vendor describes as using AI, Selenium, Java, TestNG, Maven, Jenkins, Eclipse, TestLink, Extent Reports, Git, SVN, Jira

Metrics claimed

Metrics as published, with who claims each and what this site could check.
MetricValueUnitClaimed byVerifiableEvidence
savings from faster regression cyclesvendor claim, outside the typical range in this data setUSD 210,000USDvendornoev-1162
rapid build releases80% rapid build releasesvendornoev-1162
testing cost saved88%vendornoev-1163
testing effort reduced80%vendornoev-1163
automation test coverage of storefront E2E and functional suites70%vendornoev-1164
SFCC production release intervalevery 2-4 weeksrelease intervalvendornoev-1165
defects reported for SFRAMore than 500defectsvendornoev-1166
onshore QA load shared60% of onshore QA loadvendornoev-1167
SFCC end-to-end test cases125test casesvendornoev-1168
SFCC functional test cases300+test casesvendornoev-1168
SFRA end-to-end test cases100test casesvendornoev-1169
SFRA functional test cases110+test casesvendornoev-1169
integration and end-to-end test cases120+test casesvendornoev-1170
SFRA manual test cases700+test casesvendornoev-1171
Point of Sale test cases800+test casesvendornoev-1172
test scenarios required900+test scenariosvendornoev-1173

What the case does not say

  • Baseline before the engagement.
  • Measurement method.
  • Duration over which the metric held.
  • Date of the work.
  • What was out of scope.
  • Whether the client is still a client.

Reading notes for a buyer

This case speaks to the scenario “Ecommerce platform migration” and feeds dimension D4 (Test automation evidence) of the methodology. A question to put to Aspire Systems:

What baseline were the reported cost saving figures measured against, and over what period? [ev-1161]

Source and verification

Source
Leading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migration
Published
not dated by the vendor
Verified
2026-10-30
Evidence grade
secondary
Corroborating sources
none found
Evidence records for this case. First 12 of 13 shown; the rest open below.
IdClaimSourceClassGradePublishedVerified
ev-1161Leading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1162USD 210,000 saved by speeding up regression cycles with 80% rapid build releasesLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1163Saved 88% testing cost and reduced 80% testing effortsLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1164Achieved 70% of test coverage with respect to Storefront E2E and Functional test cases automation suitesLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1165Supported production releases for SFCC every 2-4 weeks and for SFRA by next monthLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1166More than 500 defects reported for SFRALeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1167Completed regression testing ahead of planned timeframe by sharing 60% of onshore QA loadLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1168Prepared 125 End-to-End test cases and 300+ functional test cases for SFCCLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1169Prepared 100 End-to-End test cases and 110+ functional test cases for SFRALeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1170Creation of 120+ Integration and End-to-End test cases covering order creation, order fulfilment, sales posting and other various omnichannel scenariosLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1171Created 700+ SFRA manual test casesLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
ev-1172Development of 800+ Point of Sale test casesLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30
Show 1 more evidence records
Remaining evidence records.
IdClaimSourceClassGradePublishedVerified
ev-1173Developing 900+ test scenarios within a given time frame was tediousLeading American retailer saved USD 210K and reduces 80% testing efforts during SFCC to SFRA migrationvendor-case-studysecondary2026-10-30

Vendor profile: Aspire Systems. System facet: Ecommerce platform testing vendors.

Positions on this page are computed from the methodology published at /methodology/ and from the evidence records linked on this page. Case study figures are the vendor's or the client's claims as published at the linked source; the "verifiable" column states what this site could check. The site does not recommend vendors, does not accept paid placement and does not publish rates. Last computed: 2026-11-03.

Published by the editor of retailqavendors.com. Last reviewed .